UEFA Euro 2021: The Essential Guide

The second edition of the world’s biggest e-football competition has already started! 55 UEFA national associates fight against each other in this cup. The competition is not only fun to watch but also exciting and full of surprises. If you have missed the first inaugural edition won by Italy in 2020, this is your chance to get some football action.
The UEFA EURO is still a new concept, being around for only one year. You won’t find much information out there. But don’t despair: here we put together all the information we think you’ll find useful on the subject. So, what are you waiting for? Read on to learn more about this exciting digital football competition!

What is UEFA EURO?

Before we get to the dates, matches, and all the information you might want to have, you should first have a clear idea of what UEFA EURO stands for. Essentially, this digital cup sees all the 55 UEFA associations playing against each other on the e-Football PES platform by KONAMI. Like with other football competitions, teams undergo a round of qualifications. Those that pass it get to the final tournament. For the eEURO 2021 competition, gamers compete on the latest update on Playstation 4. Despite what you may think, gamers pass through an accurate and harsh selection by national tournaments before getting to the eEURO cup. So the guys you’ll see playing in the most important European digital football competition are the best of the best. Get ready for exciting action and unforgettable games!

Watching the games

The good news is that access to the eEURO cup is not complex.

You can follow all the e-football matches live on the official YouTube channel by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) or watch the games live on our website. If you didn’t make it for the old matches and you’d like to catch up, no worries! On the official Youtube Channel, you’ll find all the games you missed! Also, you’ll be able to rewatch, stop, and rewind the matches whenever you want!

Who is Qualified so Far & How Does the Qualification Process Work?

If you are familiar with football competitions, you may not need this explanation. However, it might be relevant to clarify how qualifications work, just in case. If you are a football fan, you may want to skip this paragraph and jump directly to the list of qualified teams.
Here is a simple explanation of the qualification process. This February, before the competition started, a stage draw divided the participating national teams into ten groups. As mentioned, the national teams had been selected previously by each representing country.
Five or six teams make up the ten groups created. Within those groups, each country played two matches against other two random teams of their group. Depending on the result, points were given to the teams and added to the group table. Based on the point system, the winners from each group were selected and passed directly to the final tournament.
A playoff tournament takes place among the ten runner-ups, from which the six best playing teams get the chance to contend the cup. At the finals, two groups of five teams are made, and the best three teams will advance to the final stage.
The ten teams that have made it through the qualifications are France, Greece, Israel, Romania, Croatia, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Spain, and Serbia. This April, after the matches, the three best teams will be selected for the finals, which will take place in July 2021.

How Will The Finals Take Place in the UEFA eEURO 2021?

In July, the UEFA eEURO 2021 champions will be announced in London. The 16 finalist teams will form four groups, and the best two teams from each group will get to the final stage. Until the finals, the teams will play and advance on a best-of-three basis. Out of each tournament, three countries will get on the following steps. This will continue until only three teams are left.

Who Is Playing for Each Country?

A good team is the essence of football. Believe it or not, the same applies to digital football, where a national e-football group of two to four professionals gamers represents each country. We’ve talked about this previously, but we want to point out that the players you’ll see fighting in this tournament are the best in Europe. No matter what people may think of e-sports, the reality is that they are gaining increasing traction and getting more competitive each year.

For this eEURO UEFA cup, the selection of the playing teams took place between November 2020 and February 2021, when each country organized national tournaments to find its champions. Each country, therefore, picked the best gamers to represent them in the European cup.

What's at stake for the players?

Just like the physical version of football, even digital players get paid for their performance. For the UEFA eEURO cup, gamers content the prize money of €100,000 in cash, divided between the finalists. The winners will get €40,000. Not bad, but the competition is harsher than you may think.

Key Dates You Should be Aware of

If you want to follow the UEFA e-EURO this year, you must be aware of the central dates for the competition (note that some already passed, but as we mentioned, you can always watch the past games on the official Youtube Channel of the cup).

  • November 2020- February 2021: selection of the gamers to play the competition through national tournaments
  • February 2021: Stage draw for the qualifications
  • 15/19 march and 12/26 April 2021: Qualifying group stage
  • April- May 2021: draw for the playoffs
  • 10 and 17 May: Playoff tournament
  • May/ June 2021: Stage draw for the finals
  • 9-10 July 2021: UEFA eEURO 2021 finals.

The Bottom Line

Now that you have a better idea of what the UEFA eEURO cup entails, you might be interested to follow it. The world is getting increasingly digital, and the COVID pandemic has made the shift even more smooth. With most competitions not being accessible for the public physically, turning to e-sports and e-tournaments is an interesting alternative.